後量子加密

為量子安全的將來做準備

幾乎所有數位通訊都有這些種加密系統保護:公用金鑰加密、數位簽章和金鑰交換。

在當今的公用金鑰基礎架構中,這些系統都使用 RSA 或 ECC 不對稱加密演算法。RSA 和 ECC 加密依賴稱為運算強度假定的某樣東西 — 沒有有效率的解決方法的理論上的數字問題 (例如整數因數分解或離散對數問題) 的假設。但這些假定以傳統電腦的處理力為依據。

1994 年,Peter Shor 證明了依賴運算強度假定的不對稱演算法可能很容易強大的量子電腦,加上之後稱為 Shor 演算法的特定演算法破解。事實上,有足夠量子位元和迴路深度的量子電腦可以立刻破解不對稱演算法。「ASC X9 量子運算風險研究小組」發發表的研究估計這些準確的需求。

演算法 需要邏輯的量子位元 需要迴路深度
RSA-2048 4700 8 10^9
ECC NIST P-256 2330 1.3 10^112

詳細說明 Shor 的演算法,以及量子電腦如何破解非對稱加密,觀看這部影片

大多數專家估計在接下來的 20 年,將會打造出有所需的量子位元和迴路度的夠強量子電腦,以破解 RSA 和 ECC 金鑰。

二十年似乎是一段長時間,但請記住,我們現在知道的 PKI 產業花了大概一樣多的時間才走到這一步。根據 NIST 後量子加密專案,"不可能有我們目前的公用金鑰加密演算法的簡易立即取代。開發、標準化和部署新的後量子生態系統需要很大的投入。"

這是因為 DigiCert 現在已開始和數個後量子業廠商合作,目的是為了協助建立對量子安全和夠靈活的 PKI 生態系統,以面對將來的任何威脅。

量子攻擊向量

有效防護這些將來威脅的第一步是找出由後量子威脅造成的各種攻擊向量。

TLS/SSL 交握

量子電腦把最大的威脅定在不對稱加密演算法。這表示用於數位簽署憑證和處理初始 SSL/TLS 交握的加密系統都是可能的攻擊向量。

幸運的是,NIST 和 ASC X9 都認為用於在初始 TLS/SSL 交握後,建立保護資料安全的工作階段金鑰的對稱加密演算法 (例如 AES) 似乎可以抵擋量子電腦的攻擊。實際上,將對稱金鑰的位元長度加倍 (例如從 AES-128 到 AES-256) 似乎足以保護量子電腦免於遭受攻擊。這是因為對稱金鑰是基於字元的準隨機字串,而且需要使用暴力攻擊或探索一些已知漏洞以破解加密,跟使用演算法 ( 例如 Shor 的演算法) 相反的是破解非對稱加密。

這種簡化的 TLS/SSL 交握圖突顯出哪些動作面臨量子電腦攻擊的風險,哪些是安全的。

TLS/SSL 交握使用目前的非對稱加密演算法 (RSA, ECC) 和 AES-256

這種攻擊向量使用終端實體數位憑證威脅與伺服器的通訊。這仍是大威脅,但可能不是最危險的攻擊面向。

即使是夠強大的量子電腦,計算憑證的私密金鑰所需的資源仍然相當龐大。因此,假設沒有單一終端實體數位憑證夠重要到可以防護量子攻擊是安全的。更不用說,跟重新產生金鑰和重新發行終端實體憑證相比之下微不足道。

信任鏈

量子電腦造成的最危險攻擊向量可能是數位憑證使用的信任鏈 (憑證鏈)。RSA 和 ECC 不對稱加密演算法使用在信任鏈的每一個層面 - 根憑證簽署自已本身和中繼憑證,中繼憑證簽署終端實體憑證。

如果量子電腦可以計算中繼憑證或根憑證的私密金鑰,建立 PKI 的基礎將會盪然無存。有了私密金鑰的存取權限後,威脅實施者可以發行瀏覽器會自動信任的詐騙憑證。而且跟終端實體憑證不同,取代根憑證只是一件微不足道的事。

對量子安全的加密系統

但目前的 PKI 加密系統改變可能發生前,需要區分取代加密系統。現在的確有數個對量子安全的加密系統存在,但在可以依賴它們保護敏感資料的安全前,需要做進一步的研究和試驗。

自 2016 年底起,NIST 後量子加密 (PQC) 專案已成為領導對量子安全的加密系統的研究專案。到目前為止,他們識別出 26 個後量子演算法作為可能的替代候選。然而,在這些加密系統準備好標準化和部署前,仍需要遠遠多的多的研究和測試。

根據 NIST PQC 專案的t時間進度,另一回合的消除將在 2020 年和 2021 年之間的某個時間點發生,在 2022 年和 2024 年之間推出可用的標準草案。

後量子未來的規劃

這種轉變需要在建置大規模的量子電腦前妥善進行,因此稍後遭到量子密碼分析破壞的任何資料,在破壞發生時再也不是敏感資料。

NIST PQC project

由於開發、標準化和部署後量子加密技術需要時間,因此 DigiCert 已開始測試使用 IETF 草案在混合式憑證中嵌入後量子演算法的可行性。

在接下來的幾周裏,我們將提供與我們在後量子加密方面的努力與混合式憑證的發展有關的資訊,以及涵蓋這些主題的資訊:

  • 準備後量子的未來可以立刻採取的步驟
  • 與混合式憑證有關,以及它們如何保護目前的系統的詳細資料。
  • PQC 工具組資源和設定指南

Post-Quantum Cryptography

Preparing for a quantum-safe future

Almost all digital communications are secured by three cryptographic systems: public key encryption, digital signatures, and key exchange.

In today’s Public Key Infrastructure, these systems are implemented using RSA or ECC asymmetric cryptographic algorithms. RSA and ECC cryptography rely on something called a computational hardness assumption—the hypothesis that a theoretic number problem (such as integer factorization or the discrete logarithm problem) have no efficient solution. However, these assumptions were based on the processing power of classical computers.

In 1994, Peter Shor demonstrated that asymmetric algorithms that rely on a computational hardness assumption could be broken very easily with a sufficiently powerful quantum computer and a specific algorithm, later named Shor’s algorithm. In fact, a quantum computer with enough qubits and circuit depth could crack asymmetric algorithms instantly. A study published by the ASC X9 Quantum Computing Risk Study Group estimated these exact requirements.

Algorithm Required logical qubits Required circuit depth
RSA-2048 4700 8 10^9
ECC NIST P-256 2330 1.3 10^112

For a detailed explanation of Shor’s algorithm and how quantum computers can break asymmetric encryption, watch this video.

Most experts estimate that within the next 20 years a sufficiently powerful quantum computer with the required qubits and circuit depth to crack RSA and ECC keys will be built.

Two decades might seem like a long time, but keep in mind that the PKI industry we know today has taken roughly the same amount to get here. According to the NIST Post-Quantum Cryptography project, "there is unlikely to be a simple ‘drop-in’ replacement for our current public-key cryptographic algorithms. A significant effort will be required in order to develop, standardize, and deploy new post-quantum cryptosystems."

This is why DigiCert has started working with several post-quantum industry players now, in order to help create a PKI ecosystem that is quantum safe and agile enough to face any future threats.

Quantum attack vectors

The first step to effectively protect against these future threats is to identify the various attack vectors posed by a post-quantum threat landscape.

TLS/SSL handshake

Quantum computers pose the greatest threat to asymmetric cryptographic algorithms. This means the cryptographic system used to digitally sign certificates and handle the initial SSL/TLS handshake are both potential attack vectors.

Fortunately, both NIST and ASC X9 assert that symmetric cryptographic algorithms (such as AES) used to create the session keys for securing data in transit after the initial TLS/SSL handshake appear to be resistant to quantum computer attacks. In fact, doubling the bit length of a symmetric key (e.g., from AES-128 to AES-256) seems to be enough to protect against quantum computer attacks. This is because symmetric keys are based on a pseudo-random string of characters and would require the use of a brute force attack or exploiting some known vulnerability to break the encryption, as opposed to using an algorithm (e.g., Shor’s algorithm) to break asymmetric cryptography.

This simplified TLS/SSL handshake diagram highlights which actions are at risk to quantum computer attacks and which are safe.

TLS/SSL handshake using current asymmetric cryptographic algorithms (RSA, ECC) and AES-256

This attack vector threatens the initial communication with servers using end-entity digital certificates. While this is still a pretty big threat, it’s probably not the most dangerous attack vector.

Even with a powerful enough quantum computer, the resources required to calculate a certificate’s private key is still considerable. Because of this, it’s safe to assume that no single end-entity digital certificate is important enough to warrant a quantum attack. Not to mention, it’s relatively trivial to re-key and re-issue an end-entity certificate.

Chain of trust

Probably the most dangerous attack vector posed by quantum computers is the chain of trust (certificate chain) used by digital certificates. RSA and ECC asymmetric cryptographic algorithms are used in every level of the chain of trust­­–the root certificate signs itself and the intermediate certificate, and the intermediate certificate signs the end-entity certificates.

If a quantum computer were able to calculate the private key of an intermediate certificate or root certificate, the foundation that PKI was built on would crumble. With access to the private key, a threat actor could issue fraudulent certificates that would be automatically trusted in browsers. And unlike an end-entity certificate, replacing a root certificate is anything but trivial.

Quantum-safe cryptographic systems

Before changes to the current PKI cryptographic systems can happen, replacement cryptographic systems need to be identified. While several quantum-safe cryptographic systems do exist, further research and study is needed before they can be relied on to secure sensitive information.

Since late 2016, the NIST Post-Quantum Cryptography (PQC) project has been leading research efforts for quantum-safe cryptographic systems. So far, they have identified 26 post-quantum algorithms as potential replacement candidates. However, much more research and testing are still needed before these cryptographic systems are ready to be standardized and deployed.

According to the NIST PQC project’s timeline, another round of eliminations will happen sometime between 2020 and 2021, with a draft standards made available between 2022 and 2024.

Planning for a post-quantum future

This transition needs to take place well before any large-scale quantum computers are built, so that any information that is later compromised by quantum cryptanalysis is no longer sensitive when that compromise occurs.

NIST PQC project

Because of the time it will take to develop, standardize, and deploy post-quantum cryptographic techniques, DigiCert has started testing the viability of embedding post-quantum algorithms in hybrid certificates using this IETF draft.

In the coming weeks, we will be providing additional information about our post-quantum cryptology efforts and hybrid certificate development, along with information covering these topics:

  • Immediate steps you can take to prepare for a post-quantum future
  • Details about hybrid certificates and how they can protect current systems
  • PQC toolkit resources and setup guide