Filtering by: domains x clear

CertCentral Services API: Domain locking API endpoints

DigiCert is happy to announce our domain locking feature is now available in the CertCentral Services API.

Note: Before you can use the domain locking endpoints, you must first enable domain locking for your CertCentral account. See Domain locking  – Enable domain locking for your account.

New API endpoints

Updated API endpoints

We updated the response for the Domain info and List domains endpoints to include the following parameters with domain lock details:

  • domain_locking_status (string)
    Domain lock status. Only returned if domain locking is enabled for the account.
  • account_token (string)
    Domain lock account token. Only returned if domain locking is enabled for the account, and if domain locking has been activated for the domain at least once.

To learn more, see:


CertCentral: Domain locking is now available

DigiCert is happy to announce our domain locking feature is now available.

Does your company have more than one CertCentral account? Do you need to control which of your accounts can order certificates for specific company domains?

Domain locking allows you to control which of your CertCentral accounts can order certificates for your domains.

How does domain locking work?

DNS Certification Authority Authorization (CAA) resource records allow you to control which certificate authorities can issue certificates for your domains.

With domain locking, you can use this same CAA resource record to control which of your company's CertCentral accounts can order certificates for your domains.

How do I lock a domain?

To lock a domain:

  1. Enable domain locking for your account.
  2. Set up domain locking for a domain.
  3. Add the domain's unique verification token to the domain's DNS CAA resource record.
  4. Check the CAA record for the unique verification token.

To learn more, see:


End of life for account upgrades from Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte or RapidSSL to CertCentral™

From April 5, 2022, MDT, you can no longer upgrade your Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte, or RapidSSL account to CertCentral™.

If you haven't already moved to DigiCert CertCentral, upgrade now to maintain website security and have continued access to your certificates.

Note: During 2020, DigiCert discontinued all Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte, RapidSSL admin consoles, enrollment services, and API services.

How do I upgrade my account?

To upgrade your account, contact DigiCert Support immediately. For more information about the account upgrade process, see Upgrade from Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte, or RapidSSL.

What happens if I don't upgrade my account to CertCentral?

After April 5, 2022, you must get a new CertCentral account and manually add all account information, such as domains and organizations. In addition, you won't be able to migrate any of your active certificates to your new account.

For help setting up your new CertCentral account after April 5, 2022, contact DigiCert Support.


CertCentral Services API: Improved List domains endpoint response

To make it easier to find information about the domain control validation (DCV) status for domains in your CertCentral account, we added these response parameters to domain objects in the List domains API response:

  • dcv_approval_datetime: Completion date and time of the most recent DCV check for the domain.
  • last_submitted_datetime: Date and time the domain was last submitted for validation.

For more information, see the reference documentation for the List domains endpoint.


We updated the behavior for products that can use wildcard domain names and fully qualified domain names (FQDNs) in a certificate. After August 23, 2021 certificates including the wildcard domain name will only secure the FQDN and all of its same-level domain names without charge.

Subject Alternative Names (SANs) that are not at the same level as the wildcard domain name will be considered additional to the wildcard coverage. For example, a wildcard certificate for * will only allow FQDNs like,, and to be included as SANs in the certificate without charge.


CertCentral Services API: New subaccount endpoints

To make it easier to manage your subaccounts, we added two new endpoints to the CertCentral Services API: List subaccount domains and List subaccount organizations.


Legacy account upgrades 2.0

We are happy to announce that validated domains and active, public SSL/TLS certificates are now included in the data migration when upgrading your legacy console to CertCentral. See What you need to know about account data migration.

With this release, we start a phased upgrade of our legacy consoles to CertCentral. Upgrade criteria is dependent on company size, currency preference, and feature usage.

Note: CertCentral upgrades are free. If you are interested in upgrading now, please contact your account manager or our Support team.

If your legacy account meets the phase one criteria, when you sign in to your console, you'll see an option to upgrade to CertCentral. Upon upgrade, we migrate your organizations and and validated domains to your CertCentral account. Then, when ready, you can import your active, public SSL/TLS certificates.

For more information about the upgrade to CertCentral and data migration, see our Upgrade to CertCentral guide.

Other types of certificates

Private SSL, code signing, S/Mime and other types of certificates cannot be imported at this time. Private SSL/TLS and non-SSL/TLS certificate will be part of a separate migration effort.