Réémettre un certificat SSL/TLS

Tous les certificats DigiCert sont livrés avec un nombre illimité de réémissions gratuites. La liste ci-dessous inclut quelques-unes des raisons pour lesquelles un certificat doit être réémis.

  • Clé privée égarée, besoin de recréer la clé du certificat.
  • Besoin de changer le nom commun du certificat (par exemple, vous souhaitez supprimer exemple.com et ajouter votredomaine.com).
  • Besoin d’ajouter, de supprimer ou de changer certains des SAN répertoriés dans le certificat.

Le processus de réémission du certificat vous permet de modifier un certificat réémis. Certaines modifications vous permettent de d’utiliser le certificat original comme base afin d’obtenir au moins deux versions du certificat. Par exemple, lorsque vous réémettez un certificat, vous pouvez ajouter des domaines au certificat original. L’ajout de domaine à un certificat ne révoque pas le certificat original.

D’autres modifications vous permettent de créer une nouvelle version du certificat, mais nécessitent la révocation, par DigiCert, du certificat original et de tout certificat réémis ou duplicata. Par exemple, la suppression ou le changement de SAN sur un certificat pour domaines multiples crée une nouvelle version du certificat et révoque le certificat original ainsi que tout certificat réémis ou duplicata.

Réémettre le certificat

Pour réémettre votre certificat DigiCert SSL/TLS, suivez les étapes ci-dessous.

Étape 1 : Générer une CSR

Pour réémettre un certificat SSL/TLS, vous devrez générer une nouvelle CSR. Pour plus de précisions sur la création d’une CSR, consultez la page Créer une demande de signature de certificat (Certificate Signing Request, CSR).

Étape 2 : Vous connecter à votre compte

Connectez-vous à CertCentral.

Étape 3 : Remplissez le formulaire de réémission.

Remplissez le formulaire de demande de réémission en modifiant le certificat selon le besoin.

Dans le menu latéral, cliquez sur Certificates > Orders (Certificats > Commandes). Sur la page Orders (Commandes), cliquez sur le numéro de commande du certificat à réémettre. Sur la page de détails « Order # » (N° de commande), dans le menu déroulant Certificate Actions (Actions sur les certificats), cliquez sur Reissue Certificate (Réémettre le certificat).

En fonction des modifications apportées, vous devrez peut-être révoquer le certificat original et ses versions précédentes (réémissions et duplicatas). Toutefois, si une modification nécessite une révocation, nous vous en informerons avant que vous envoyiez la demande de réémission.

S’il s’avère nécessaire de révoquer des certificats après la réémission de votre certificat, DigiCert laisse s’écouler une période de 48 à 72 heures avant de révoquer le certificat original ainsi que toute réémission et duplicata existant.

(Source : CertCentral ressiue SSL certificate)

Étape 4 : Valider le contrôle d’un domaine (DCV)

Si vous avez ajouté de nouveaux domaines non validés à la demande de réémission du certificat (nom commun ou noms SAN), vous devrez prouver que vous contrôlez ces domaines avant que DigiCert puisse réémettre le certificat. Consultez la page Prouver le contrôle des domaines d’une commande de certificat en attente.

Étape 5 : DigiCert réémet le certificat SSL/TLS

Une fois la demande approuvée, nous réémettons et envoyons le certificat réémis par courrier électronique au contact spécifié. Vous pouvez également envoyer le certificat réémis depuis votre compte. Consultez la page Télécharger un certificat depuis votre compte.

Étape 6 : Installez votre certificat SSL/TLS réémis

Installez et configurez le nouveau certificat. Pour plus d’informations sur l’installation de votre certificat, consultez la page Tutoriels et instructions d’installation des certificats SSL.

S’il s’avère nécessaire de révoquer des certificats, vous disposez d’un délai de 48 à 72 heures à compter de la réémission de votre certificat pour remplacer tout certificat dont la révocation aura lieu sous peu.

Reissue an SSL/TLS certificate

Industry standards are changing: End of 2-year public SSL/TLS certificates

On August 27, 2020, 5:59 PM MDT (23:59 UTC), DigiCert will stop issuing public DV, OV, and EV SSL/TLS certificates with a maximum validity greater than 397 days.

After the August 27 deadline, 2-year public SSL/TLS certificate reissues will have a max validity of 397 days. This means some reissued certificates will expire before the order expires.

To use the remaining validity included with the original certificate, reissue certificates during the order's final 397-day period. You may request reissues with a validity of up to 397 days or the expiration of the order, whichever is soonest. To learn more, see End of 2-year DV, OV, and EV public SSL/TLS certificates.

All DigiCert certificates come with unlimited free reissues. The list below includes some reasons for reissuing a certificate.

  • Lost the private key and want to re-key the certificate.
  • Need to change the common name on the certificate (for example, you want to remove example.com and add yourdomain.com).
  • Need to add, remove, or change some of the SANs listed in the certificate.

The certificate reissue process allows you to modify an issued certificate. Some modifications allow you to build upon the original certificate, resulting in two or more versions of that certificate. For example, when reissuing a certificate, you can add domains to the original certificate. Adding domains to a certificate doesn’t revoke the original certificate.

Other modifications allow you to create a new version of the certificate and require DigiCert to revoke the original certificate and any certificate reissues and duplicates. For example, removing SANs or changing SANs on a multi-domain certificate creates a new version of the certificate and revokes the original certificate and any previous reissues and duplicate copies.

Reissue certificate

To reissue your DigiCert SSL/TLS certificate, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Generate CSR

To reissue an SSL/TLS certificate, you’ll need to generate a new CSR. For more information about creating a CSR, see our Create a CSR (Certificate Signing Request) page.

Best practices are to generate a new certificate signing request (CSR) when reissuing your SSL/TLS certificate. Generating a new CSR creates a new, unique keypair (public/private) for the reissued certificate.

Step 2: Sign in to your account

Sign in to CertCentral.

Step 3: Fill out the reissue form

Fill out the certificate reissue request form and modify the certificate as needed.

In the sidebar menu, click Certificates > Orders. On the Orders page, click the Order # of the certificate that needs to be reissued. On the certificate's Order # details page, in the Certificate Actions dropdown, click Reissue Certificate.

Depending on the changes you make, the original certificate and previous versions (reissues and duplicates) may need to be revoked. However, if a change requires revocation, we will notify you before you submit the reissue request.

If certificate revocations are required, after reissuing your certificate, DigiCert waits 48 – 72 hours before revoking the original certificate and any existing duplicates and reissues.

(Source: CertCentral ressiue SSL certificate)

Step 4: Complete domain control validation (DCV)

If you added any new, unvalidated domains to the certificate reissue request (common name or SANs), you’ll need to demonstrate control over those domains before DigiCert can reissue the certificate. See Demonstrate control over domains on a pending certificate order.

Step 5: DigiCert reissues the SSL/TLS certificate

Once approved, we reissue and send the reissued certificate to the certificate contact in an email. You can also download the reissued certificate from your account. See Download a certificate from your account.

Step 6: Install your reissued SSL/TLS certificate

Install and configure the new certificate. For more information about installing your certificate, see our SSL Certificate Installation Instructions & Tutorials page.

If certificate revocations are required, you have 48 – 72 hours from the time your certificate is reissued to replace any soon-to-be revoked certificates.

Reissue FAQ

Q: Do I need to create a new CSR when I reissue my SSL/TLS certificate?

Answer: Best practices are to generate a new CSR.

Best practices are to generate a new certificate signing request (CSR) when reissuing your SSL/TLS certificate. Generating a new CSR creates a new, unique keypair (public/private) for the reissued certificate.

For more information, see Create a CSR. If you have a Windows server you can use the free DigiCert Certificate Utility for Windows which has an easy CSR generator for Windows servers.