設定"憑證上的截止有效"時間

確定憑證有效期符合業界標準

從歷史角度看,CertCentral 將憑證上的 validTo 時間設定為 12:00:00 UTC。此作法在 DigiCert 是較小的公司時開始。我們想要憑證在我們的早上 (MT) 到期,此時我們有較多的支援員工可協助客戶續訂即將到期的憑證。

由於我們將憑證上的 validFrom 時間設為 00:00:00 UTC,將 validTo 時間設為 12:00:00 UTC,表示我們增加了 12 小時又一秒到每份憑證的有效期間中。那時,與憑證有效期有關的業界準則不像現在那麼明確。有額外的 12 小時又一秒的憑證仍符合業界標準。

CertCentral 現在如何設定"截止有效"時間?

一秒規則

今天,業界標準以確切的天數、定義的總秒數來定義允許的憑證使用壽命。如果即使憑證授權機關 (CA) 新增了一秒到憑證中,天數會四捨五入為一整天。這表示在決定遵守第 6.3.2 節的發行和管理公共信任的憑證的基準要求Apple 的有效期要求時,397 天憑證有效期加一秒等於 398 天。

RFC 5280 憑證有效期間的定義

RFC 5280 定義憑證有效期間包括兩個時間:開始和結束。這表示,如果您將開始時間設定為 00:00:00 UTC,將結束時間設定為 00:00:00 UTC,憑證有效期間將等於一秒。因此,如果您將 validFromvalidTo 時間設為 0:00:00 UTC,憑證有效期將包括額外的一秒。

DigiCert:"開始有效"時間 00:00:00 UTC –"截止有效"時間 23:59:59 UTC –

根據 RFC 5280 的業界解釋,DigiCert 現在將 validTo 時間設定為用於我們發行的憑證的 23:59:59 UTC。根據 RFC 5280,此有效期包括多達 00:00:00 UTC 的秒數。

1 年期憑證有效性範例

在此範例中,我們想要發行在 2020 年 10 月 15 日 00:00:00 UTC 開始,並在 2021 年 10 月 15 日 00:00:00 UTC 結束的 1 年期憑證。當我們設定此憑證的有效期時,我們將 validFrom 時間設定為 2020 年 10 月 15 日 00:00:00 UTC,將 validTo 時間設定為 2021 年 10 月 14 日 23:59:59 UTC。依照 RFC 5280,憑證的有效期是完整的 365 天。

397 天憑證有效期範例

在此範例中,我們想發行業界推薦最長有效期 397 天的憑證。當我們設定此憑證的有效期時,我們將 validFrom 時間設定為 2020 年 10 月 15 日 00:00:00 UTC,將 validTo 時間設定為 2021 年 11 月 11 日 23:59:59 UTC。依照 RFC 5280,憑證的有效期是完整的 397 天。

週末和美國假日憑證到期日調整

因到期憑證從來不好的網站關閉時間。但如果憑證在週末到期,網站可能關閉更長的時間。在週末期間,企業花費較長的時間發現問題,聯絡正確人員和修復問題。

除非您要求特定的憑證結束日期,否則 CertCentral 會嘗試調整憑證上的 validTo 時間,這樣憑證不會在週末期間到期並避開美國假日。

Setting the "validTo" time on certificates

Making sure certificate validity is compliant with industry standards

Historically, CertCentral set the validTo time on certificates to 12:00:00 UTC. This practice began when DigiCert was a smaller company. We wanted certificates to expire in our morning (MT) when we had more support staff available to assist customers in renewing expiring certificates.

Because we set the validFrom time on certificates to 00:00:00 UTC and the validTo time to 12:00:00 UTC, we added 12 hours plus one second to the validity period of every certificates. At the time, the industry guidelines around certificate validity were not as specific as they are today. Certificates with an extra 12 hours and one second were still compliant with industry standards.

How does CertCentral set the "validTo" time now?

One-second rule

Today, industry standards define allowed certificate lifetimes in exact numbers of days, defined by total number of seconds. If a certificate authority (CA) adds even one extra second to a certificate, the number of days is rounded up a full day. This means a 397-day certificate validity plus one second is equal to 398 days when determining adherence to section 6.3.2 of the Baseline Requirements for the Issuance and Management of Publicly-Trusted Certificates and Apple's validity requirements.

RFC 5280 definition of the certificate validity period

RFC 5280 defines the certificate validity period to be inclusive of both times: start and end. This means if you set the start time to 00:00:00 UTC and the end time to 00:00:00 UTC, the certificate validity will be equal to one second. Thus, if you set both the validFrom and the validTo times to 00:00:00 UTC, the certificate validity will include an additional second.

DigiCert: "validFrom" time 00:00:00 UTC – "validTo" time 23:59:59 UTC

Due to the industry's interpretation of RFC 5280, DigiCert now sets the validTo time to 23:59:59 UTC for the certificates we issue. Per RFC 5280, this validity period is inclusive of the second up to 00:00:00 UTC.

1-year certificate validity example

In this example, we want to issue a 1-year certificate that starts on October 15, 2020 00:00:00 UTC and ends on October 15, 2021 00:00:00 UTC. When we configure the validity for this certificate, we set the validFrom time to October 15, 2020 00:00:00 UTC and the validTo time to October 14, 2021 23:59:59 UTC. Per RFC 5280, the certificate is valid for the entire 365 days.

397-day certificate validity example

In this example, we want to issue a certificate for the industry recommended maximum validity of 397 days. When we configure the validity for this certificate, we set the validFrom time to October 15, 2020 00:00:00 UTC and the validTo time to November 11, 2021 23:59:59 UTC. Per RFC 5280, the certificate is valid for the entire 397 days.

Weekend and US holiday certificate expiration date adjustments

Site downtime due to an expired certificate is never good. However, if a certificate expires during the weekend, a site may be down for a prolonged period. During the weekend, it may take longer for a business to discover the problem, contact the correct people, and fix it.

Unless you request a specific end date for the certificate, CertCentral tries to adjust the validTo time on certificates so they don't expire during the weekend and to avoid US holidays.