Skip to main content

CertCentral: Cancel a subscription

Use these instructions to:

Before you begin

What happens if I cancel my subscription within 30 days of activation?

  • DigiCert issues a complete refund.

  • All active certificates are revoked.

  • All pending certificate orders are canceled.

  • Your CertCentral account becomes read-only except for generating reports.

What happens If I cancel my subscription after 30 days following activation?

  • No refund is issued.

  • Auto-renewal of your subscription is turned off.

  • You retain full access to your account until your subscription expires at the end of its 12-month term.

  • Certificates and services remain active until the subscription expiration date.

  • Certificates will be revoked within 24 hours after the expiration of the subscription unless paid for through the validity period.

  • You can choose if you want to pay a one-time remaining lifecycle fee to keep active any certificates that expire after your subscription end date.

  • Once the subscription expires and is not renewed, your CertCentral account becomes read-only except for generating reports.

Keeping active certificates after your account subscription ends

DigiCert allows customers to keep certificates active beyond their subscription expiration by paying a fee to cover any remaining validity period beyond the subscription end date.

If you cancel your subscription, you will be asked if you want to keep any active certificates by paying a one-time Remaining Certificate Plan Life Fee. Alternatively, you can choose not to pay the fee and have your active certificates revoked when the subscription ends.

You will have 24 hours from your subscription cancellation end date to choose whether to pay the Remaining Certificate Plan Life Fee and keep your active certificates. Certificates will be revoked within 24 hours after the expiration of the subscription unless paid for through the validity period.

Importante

Remaining Certificate Plan Life Fee:

If you choose to keep your active certificates after your subscription ends, DigiCert will calculate a one-time “Remaining Certificate Plan Life Fee” based on the original purchase price and the amount of time between the subscription expiration date and the date the certificate expires.

See our Subscription Terms and Conditions for more details on how the Remaining Certificate Plan Life Fee is calculated.

Reactivating your subscription after canceling

You can reactivate your canceled subscription by using your CertCentral account to make a new purchase.

Cancel my CertCentral account subscription

  1. In your CertCentral account, in the left main menu, go to My Digital Trust Products > My subscription.

  2. On the Subscription page, in the Subscription actions dropdown, select Cancel my subscription.

What's next

To learn more about what happens after you cancel a CertCentral account subscription, see:

Cancel a subscription for a specific product

An account subscription may have multiple product subscriptions (e.g., Basic OV – domains, Code Signing certificate, etc.).

Use this option to remove a product from your CertCentral account subscription without canceling your account subscription.

  1. In your CertCentral account, in the left main menu, go to My Digital Trust Products > My subscription.

  2. On the Subscription page, select the product you want to cancel the subscription for.

  3. On the product's subscription page, in the items Actions menu, select Cancel the subscription for option.

  4. You will receive a "Subscription cancellation request submitted" message.

    Your account manager or a DigiCert representative will contact you within 24 hours to help with your cancellation request.

What's next

The specific product subscription remains active until it expires. However, it will not be automatically renewed when your account subscription renews. To keep your certificate/service for this product active until it expires, even after your subscription for the product ends, you can opt to pay for the remaining cost of the certificate/service. See Keeping active certificates after your account subscription ends above.

What happens when a certificate is revoked?

When a certificate is revoked, it can no longer be used to provide authentication and encryption for the entity for which it was issued. The risks to your business are different depending on the type of service and certificate:

  • TLS/SSL - Communication and transactions on a website with a revoked certificate are no longer secured. Your website visitors may see trust warnings or be unable to connect.

  • Code and Document Signing - Signing services are no longer available and may disrupt your business processes. Previously signed objects may show trust warnings.

  • S/MIME (Secure email) - Your email communication is no longer considered secure, and recipients may see trust warnings when viewing your email.

  • Verified Mark - Your logo will not be displayed alongside email communications. Without this visual cue of email authenticity, your customers may distrust legitimate emails as spam or phishing.