What should I know before I upgrade to CertCentral?

CertCentral upgrade FAQ for Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte, and RapidSSL customers

All Symantec certificate services permanently closed

All Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte, and RapidSSL admin consoles, enrollment services, and API services have been discontinued. If you haven’t already moved to DigiCert CertCentral, upgrade now to make sure you maintain website security and have continued access to your certificates.

For help moving to CertCentral:

  • Check your email for CertCentral upgrade or migration notifications.
  • Check this page's FAQs on getting your upgrade started or more detailed FAQs on using CertCentral after you activate your new account.
  • Contact us or talk to your account manager.

Why should I be excited about CertCentral?

CertCentral has everything your old certificate management console has to keep your websites secure—certificate requests and management, fast renewal, and order history. Plus, CertCentral delivers features not found in Symantec-based services, such as greater account security, more control over payment options, and more tools for mid-sized and enterprise organizations.

Certificate management, simple and easy

Do I have to move to CertCentral?

Yes. The Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte, and RapidSSL certificate products and services are no longer available.

We sent a CertCentral upgrade invitation by email or contacted you directly. If you haven't already upgraded, your certificates and account info are ready in your new CertCentral account.

For help upgrading to CertCentral, talk to your account manager or contact us.

What account and certificate information is transferred to my new CertCentral account?

We moved your validated organization and domain information over. With your validated organizations and domains already in your new CertCentral account, it's one less step during order processing, and ideally a shorter time to issue certificates.

Additionally, we readied your certificates for import. How do I import my certificates to CertCentral?

Note that admins, subscribers, and other users are not migrated to your new CertCentral account.

What else do I need to do to finish upgrading?

If you manage only 1 or 2 certificates and a couple of domains, you don't need to set up anything else. But to get the most out of CertCentral, save time by updating your billing options (the Finances section in CertCentral) and customizing alerts and notifications (Settings > Notifications).

If you have multiple certificate owners and admins, set them up as users in your CertCentral account or provide guest access to your certificate request forms.

Don't worry! We'll remind you of all these things when you get into your new CertCentral account.

Are my accounts linked?

No, your legacy Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte, or RapidSSL account is now closed and unavailable. No further information from these accounts is transferred to your CertCentral account. Information in your CertCentral account is not transferred to any legacy account.

Where are my Symantec, GeoTrust, Thawte, or RapidSSL certificates now that these accounts are closed?

We transferred all valid certificates from your legacy accounts to your new CertCentral account. From now on you'll get, renew, and manage your certificates in CertCentral.

What is there to help me get set up in CertCentral?

CertCentral provides several tools to help you get familiar with the console and effortlessly manage your certificates.

  • CertCentral tour—When you first sign in, follow the welcome tour and we'll introduce you to the main areas of CertCentral.
  • Get started checklist—After the tour, you'll start on the dashboard where an upgrade checklist helps walk you through the most important setup tasks.
  • Help, documentation, and support—When you start getting into advanced features and any time you need help, come back here for information or contact our support team directly.