Skip to main content

Opt out of endpoints you don't plan to manage in Trust Lifecycle Manager

When you discover a certificate with a known deployment location into DigiCert​​®​​ Trust Lifecycle Manager, such as through a network discovery scan, it adds an endpoint record to your inventory and consumes a seat license for it. This enables you to monitor and manage certificate deployments for that endpoint on an ongoing basis.

For endpoints that you don't plan to manage in Trust Lifecycle Manager, you can use the Opt out function to release the seat license and move the endpoint out of your active inventory. These opted out endpoints can later be restored if you decide to start monitoring and managing them in Trust Lifecycle Manager.

Before you begin

  • Your account must have the Opt out function enabled. For help verifying or enabling this feature, contact your DigiCert account representative.

  • Endpoints with active or scheduled certificate lifecycle automation events cannot be opted out. Cancel all automations before opting out an endpoint. To cancel, open the automation sidebar for the endpoint and select the cancel button. For details, see Track progress of certificate automation requests.

What happens when you opt out an endpoint?

When you opt out an endpoint:

  • The seat license for the endpoint is released and is available for another endpoint.

  • The endpoint moves out of your active inventory and into a special "Opted out" view. You can no longer monitor or manage certificate deployments for that endpoint in Trust Lifecycle Manager.

  • The endpoint no longer appears in reports and alerts.

  • The endpoint is excluded from discovery operations and will not be added back to your active inventory unless you use the Restore to inventory function to restore it.

Opt out an endpoint

To opt out an individual endpoint:

  1. In the Trust Lifecycle Manager menu, go to Inventory > Endpoints.

  2. From the Views dropdown above the inventory table, select the Discovered system view or a custom view created from that system view.

  3. Find the endpoint in the inventory table, and select Opt out from the actions menu in the rightmost table column.

  4. In the pop-up that appears, select the Opt out button to confirm.

Opt out multiple endpoints

To opt out multiple endpoints in bulk:

  1. In the Trust Lifecycle Manager menu, go to Inventory > Endpoints.

  2. From the Views dropdown above the inventory table, select the Discovered system view or a custom view created from that system view.

  3. Select the endpoints in the inventory table, then select the Opt out bulk action above the table.

  4. In the pop-up that appears, select the Opt out button to confirm.

View opted out endpoints

To view the current opted out endpoints in your account:

  1. In the Trust Lifecycle Manager menu, go to Inventory > Endpoints.

  2. From the Views dropdown above the inventory table, select the Opted out system view.

重要

All endpoints in the Opted out view have been opted out of management in Trust Lifecycle Manager and are excluded from ongoing imports and discovery scans. Use the Restore to inventory function to add any opted out endpoints back to your active inventory.

What happens when you restore an opted out endpoint?

When you restore an opted out endpoint to inventory:

  • The endpoint is added back to your active inventory and consumes a seat license. 

  • You can start monitoring and managing certificate deployments for that endpoint in Trust Lifecycle Manager.

Restore an endpoint

To restore an individual endpoint to your active inventory:

  1. In the Trust Lifecycle Manager menu, go to Inventory > Endpoints.

  2. From the Views dropdown above the inventory table, select the Opted out system view.

  3. Find the endpoint in the table, and select Restore from the actions menu in the rightmost table column.

  4. In the pop-up that appears, select the Restore button to confirm.

Restore multiple endpoints

To restore multiple endpoints to your active inventory in bulk:

  1. In the Trust Lifecycle Manager menu, go to Inventory > Endpoints.

  2. From the Views dropdown above the inventory table, select the Opted out system view.

  3. Select the endpoints in the table, then select the Restore to inventory bulk action above the table.

  4. In the pop-up that appears, select the Restore button to confirm.