Skip to main content

Manage existing devices

Manage existing devices throughout their lifecycle by modifying device details, disabling or enabling devices, and deleting devices that are no longer required. Use this section to keep device information up to date and maintain control over your registered devices as your operational requirements evolve.

To perform this action, you must have a user role that contains the Solution administrator, Device creator, or Device administrator permission.

Let op

For an existing device, you can only modify the device name.

  1. In the Device Trust Manager menu, go to Device management > Devices.

  2. Select More actions > Edit on the device for which you want to modify the details.

  3. In the Edit device name window, enter a new Device name.

  4. Click Update to save the details.

To perform this action, you must have a user role that contains the Solution administrator, Device creator, or Device administrator permission.

If a device is no longer needed but may be needed again, you can disable it. Disabling a device removes it from the list of active devices on the Device management page.

Waarschuwing

Disabling a device blocks the device from connecting to Device Trust Manager until you manually re-enable it.

  1. In the Device Trust Manager menu, go to Device management > Devices.

  2. Next to an Enabled Device name, click More actions > Disable.

The Device status displays Disabled.

If needed, you can enable the device. After enabling a device, it will appear on the list of active devices on the Device management page.

  1. In the Device Trust Manager menu, go to Device management > Devices.

  2. Next to a Disabled Device name, click More actions > Enable.

To perform this action, you must have a user role that contains the Solution administrator, Device creator, or Device administrator permission.

If a device is no longer needed, you can delete it. Deleting a device removes it from the list of Active devices on the Device management page and revokes all certificates associated with it.

Waarschuwing

The deleted devices remain visible in DigiCert® Device Trust Manager, but cannot be restored. Once a device is deleted, its license is released, all certificate associations are removed, and the device name cannot be reused.

  1. In the Device Trust Manager menu, go to Device management > Devices.

    Let op

    Only a disabled device can be deleted. To delete a device, disable it first.

  2. Next to a Disabled Device name, click More actions > Delete.

  3. In the Delete device confirmation dialog box, type DELETE, then select Delete device.

The Device state displays Deleted.